Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







Over 90 Bridgeport Hospital-affiliated physicians on Connecticut Magazine’s 2020 Best Doctors list

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

BRIDGEPORT, CT (June 9, 2020) – Over 90 physicians affiliated with Bridgeport Hospital are among the more than 380 from Yale New Haven Health included on Connecticut Magazine’s Best Doctors list for 2020. Best Doctors are selected by impartial peer review in over 450 medical specialty/subspecialty combinations. A team of researchers conducts a biennial poll using a methodology that mimics the informal peer-to-peer process doctors themselves use to identify the right specialists for their patients.

Using a polling method and proprietary balloting software, they gather the insight and experience of tens of thousands of leading specialists all over the country, while confirming their credentials and specific areas of expertise. The result is the Best Doctors in America List, which includes the nation’s most respected specialists and outstanding primary care physicians in the nation. These are the doctors that other doctors recognize as the best in their fields. They cannot pay a fee and are not paid to be listed and cannot nominate or vote for themselves. It is a list which is unbiased and respected by the medical profession and patients alike as the source of top quality medical information. The complete list of Connecticut Magazine’s Best Doctors appears in the June edition, also available online at Enter “Best Doctors 2020” in the search box.

The Bridgeport Hospital affiliated physicians on the list are:

Faye Ahmadian, Internal Medicine

Latha Alaparthi, Gastroenterology

Francis Alcedo, Internal Medicine

Nabil Atweh, Surgery

Henry Backe, Orthopedic Surgery

Joachim Manfred Baehring, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Nicholas Bertini, Geriatric and Internal Medicine

Emily Blair, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dante Brittis, Orthopedic Surgery

Domenic Casablanca, Family Medicine

Linda Casale, Cardiovascular Disease

Tom Coffey, Pediatric and Adult Otolaryngology

Steven Cohen, Cardiovascular Disease

Michael Connolly, General Pediatrics and Internal Medicine

Leo Cooney, Geriatric Medicine

Joshua Copel, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Joseph Cuteri, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Brian DeBroff, Ophthalmology

Roy Decker, Radiation Oncology

Frank Detterbeck, Thoracic Surgery

Mitchell Driesman, Cardiovascular Disease

Fredric Finkelstein, Nephrology

Neal Fischbach, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Lawrence Fisher, Cardiovascular Disease

Robert Fishman, Cardiovascular Disease

Richard Freedman, General Pediatrics

Gary Friedlaender, Orthopedic Surgery

James Gavin, Nephrology

Cynthia Gentes, Internal Medicine

Geoffrey Gladstein, Rheumatology

Andrew Halldor Haims, Radiology

David Hass, Gastroenterology

Mark Hotchkiss, Nephrology

S. David Hudnall, Pathology

Peter Humphrey, Pathology

William Hunt, Nephrology

Gary Michael Israel, Radiology

Michele Johnson, Radiology

Pinar Kodaman, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Steven Kunkes, Cardiovascular Disease

Steven Laifer, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Seth Lerner, Dermatology

Urania Magriples, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Craig McPherson, Cardiovascular Disease

Saral Mehra, Surgery

Jay Meizlish, Cardiovascular Disease and Nuclear Medicine

Cheryl Menzies, Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine

Nicholas Mongillo, General Pediatrics

Meena Moran, Radiation Oncology

Robert Moskowitz, Cardiovascular Disease

Pasquale Patrizio, Obstetrics and Gynecology

John Persing, Plastic Surgery

Christian Pettker, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Liane Philpotts, Radiology

Brian Pollack, Cardiovascular Disease

Carole Presnick, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Vidhya Rao, Internal Medicine

William Ravich, Gastroenterology

Lynda Rosenfeld, Cardiovascular Disease

Ronald Salem, Colon and Rectal Surgery, Surgery and Surgical Oncology

Lauren Sansing, Neurology

Joseph Schindler, Neurology

Adam Schussheim, Cardiovascular Disease

Peter Schwartz, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Leslie Scoutt, Radiology

Marilyn Palkowksi Smith, General Pediatrics

Gregory Soloway, Gastroenterology

Julie Spivack, Gastroenterology

Robert Stanton, Orthopedic Surgery

Scott James Sullivan, Radiology

Bauer Sumpio, Vascular Surgery

Gordon Sze, Radiology

Richard Taikowksi, Cardiovascular Disease

Mark Taylor, Gastroenterology

James Grant Thomson, Hand Surgery and Plastic Surgery

Melvin Thornton, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Edward Tuohy, Cardiovascular Disease

Renuka Umashanker, Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Stephen Urciuoli, Internal Medicine

James Weisz, Ophthalmology

Lynn Wilson, Radiation Oncology

Robert Winslow, Cardiovascular Disease

David Witt, Medical Oncology and Hematology

Stuart Zarich, Cardiovascular Disease.

Similar Articles


Bridgeport Hospital's Emergency Departments win Lantern Awards

BRIDGEPORT, CT (July 11, 2024) – Bridgeport Hospital’s Emergency Departments in both Bridgeport and Milford have taken home Lantern Awards from the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA). Established in 2011, The ENA Lantern Award recognizes excellence in Emergency Departments. This year, only 94 hospitals across the country received the honor for demonstrating exceptional performance in key areas.


Bridgeport Hospital is nationally recognized for its commitment to providing high-quality stroke care

MILFORD, CT (June 5, 2024) – Bridgeport Hospital’s Milford Campus unveiled its new state-of-the-art post-surgical orthopedic care unit.


Bridgeport Hospital Program Director of Strategic Operations named to Westfair Business Journal’s 40 Under 40

BRIDGEPORT, CT (June 18, 2024) – Bridgeport Hospital’s Program Director of Strategic Operations Amanda Miller has been named one of Westfair Business Journal’s ’40 Under 40’ for Fairfield County.