Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







First responders honored at Bridgeport Hospital’s annual EMS awards ceremony

Bridgeport Hospital celebrated Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Week May 19 - 25 by honoring some of the best in the area at the annual EMS awards ceremony, which recognizes those who go above and beyond.

This year’s EMS Provider of the Year Award went to Sonny Ruskin from Trumbull EMS and AMR-Bridgeport. The award honors the provider who consistently demonstrates the highest level of professionalism and patient care throughout the year. Ruskin was honored for his high level of clinical excellence and unwavering level of professionalism.

“He strives to make his patients feel valued, safe and cared for on every call, whether routine or life-threatening,” said Wesley Young, regional EMS medical control program manager for Bridgeport and Greenwich hospitals.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes individuals who have significantly contributed to public safety and EMS, was presented to Gordon “Gee” Macalla. Macalla has saved countless lives in his more than 33-year career as a paramedic, educator and supervisor. His colleagues shared that he leads by example and never shies away from a challenge.

The ceremony also honored recipients of the STEMI (ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction) Awards for Excellence in Heart Attack Recognition and Management. The recipients met the benchmarks for rapid identification, transport and treatment, which allowed patients to be discharged from the hospital in good condition. The 11 honorees included paramedics and EMTs from Ansonia EMS, the Bridgeport Paramedic Program, Echo Hose Ambulance, Monroe EMS, Trumbull EMS and Valley EMS.